International Women of Courage Award

International Women of Courage Award

As delivered by Acting Deputy Chief of Mission Greg Macris
to the Permanent Council, Vienna
March 7, 2019

Thank you, Mr. Chair.

The United States looks forward to International Women’s Day tomorrow, March 8. Later today in Washington D.C., Secretary of State Pompeo will host the Annual International Women of Courage (IWOC) Awards at the U.S. Department of State to honor 10 extraordinary women from around the world.

Now in its 13th year, the Secretary of State’s IWOC Award recognizes women around the globe who have demonstrated exceptional courage and leadership in advocating for peace, justice, human rights, gender equality, and women’s empowerment, often at great personal risk and sacrifice. Since the inception of this award in March 2007, the State Department has recognized more than 120 women from more than 65 different countries.

This annual award highlights the U.S. commitment to advancing women’s empowerment around the world.

Thank you.